Remind me
to book
We will send you an email
reminder on this date.
Book Your Room

Modify Reservation

Best Rate Guarantee

Temperature:

NYC Boutique Hotel Reviews

Customer Testimonials

Before you make the decision to stay at Hotel Wales, see what others have said about their time here in our NYC boutique hotel reviews. Read on for an insider’s look into what you can expect at our elegant NYC boutique hotel near Central Park.

NYC Hotel Reviews for Hotel Wales

“Fall Weekend”

Just had a girls weekend in NYC and stayed at Hotel Wales. The staff were all very attentive and so nice, all inquiring if they could assist with anything. The hotel is beautiful in a very nice area on the upper East side, with restaurants and stores nearby. The neighborhood is quieter and enjoyable to walk in, as well as close to Central Park. Our room was very nice, clean, with all of the necessities. The bed was comfortable, such soft towels, and the room temperature could be modified if needed. The roof has a nice patio which had me wishing we had warmer weather, to spend time there. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

* Stayed November 2016, traveled with family

“A beautiful, quiet, clean hotel”

My family absolutely loved staying here. It was in a great location- a quick subway ride to touristy places, a quick walk to central park and great restaurants. We've traveled to NYC a bunch and have stayed in many different places, and this was by far the best and our favorite. Staff was so nice and attentive, the rooms and building were spotless, and there was delicious apple cider in the lobby! If you're looking for a quiet, cozy place to stay in a beautiful area, hotel wales is it.

* Stayed November 2016, traveled with family

“Hotel Wales is a great place.”

Hotel Wales is in a great quiet location with great places around. Our room had a great view. Very clean. My bed was sooooo comfortable.Very accommodating. Great staff. Great coffee. The connecting restaurant was delish. The rooftop view was spectacular. Thanks Hotel Wales For a great weekend. Will be back soon.

Stayed November 2016, traveled with friends

“Girls Weekend”

This is my third time staying at Hotel Wales. It is always a pleasant experience! The staff are friendly and helpful! You can't beat the rooftop views and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. I can't wait to visit again next year!

* Stayed November 2016, traveled with family

“An oasis at the end of a really long and busy day in New York City on business.”

My meeting schedule ran long and I decided to book a hotel room late in the day. Manhattan was a buzz and most of my usual hotel selections were booked. My corporate travel agency system was up / down most of the day but I finally was booked at another hotel in lower Manhattan. I arrived at that hotel to find that the service had mistakenly booked me when there were no rooms. The service re-booked me at Hotel Wales. I arrived there late in the evening only to find that once again the service had over booked. The front desk agent at Hotel Wales was kind, professional and really went out of his way to help me out. In then end, they were able to find me a room in the hotel and while I only stayed one night, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I filled out their survey on the following day and noted how pleased I was with Gregory at the front desk and the hotel manager then sent me a personal email to thank me... The folks at Hotel Wales have figured it out. Hire really bright, professional people that care about customers and then make sure you're listening to feedback. I will choose Hotel Wales again and I will tell my friends and family about this wonderful experience. Thanks!

* Stayed November 2016, traveled on business

“Girls Weekend ”

Although I've stayed at Hotel Wales before, this time it was for a girls weekend in the city. Absolutely love the location - the neighborhood and block the hotel is on have everything you need. Second floor room with tea and coffee is huge and beautiful. Staff is consistently friendly and look to go out of their way to help in any way. Hot apple cider in the lobby is a thoughtful touch. I'm sure I will be back!

Stayed November 2016, traveled with family

“What a Gem!”

I chose this hotel from the reviews, and are so glad I did! So convenient, nice neighborhood feel (not touristy), very clean, friendly staff. And the rooftop was completely amazing! Plenty of seating up there and tables for delivery food or just a bottle of wine. Definitely a thumbs up!

Stayed September 2016, traveled with family

“Excellence - Long Term Stay”

In the complete chaos of NYC, the staff at Hotel Wales welcomed my adult daughter for a month long stay! An intimate Boutique Hotel, with the comforts of home, in a lovely neighborhood, on Museum Mile, a block from Central Park. What more could you ask for? A special thanks to all the staff who were so helpful and accommodating: Lorraine, Rosalyn, Sherene, as well as the front desk staff and wonderful housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view! 

“The location, the service, the facilities, the rate -- perfect.”

This place has something special going on. We wanted an affordable place in Upper East Side in walking distance to the Met, the Frick, and the Guggenheim. A block from Central Park, the Hotel Wales is also about a ten-minute walk to the southwest from the Guggenheim. The building is old but stately and well maintained. The staff is unfailingly friendly and helpful. We got in early the first day and left late the last day, and they held our luggage on both occasions. The room's price was a good deal lower than I could find elsewhere on TripAdvisor for its location, but it was very nice. It included a safe (we didn't use it) and a modern shower for two that served also as the bathroom floor, separated by a shower curtain. We ate at Sarabeth's on three occasions, a very nice place, especially for breakfast, that is on the corner and part of the hotel's building. The double bed was comfortably firm, and we slept like babies. Free sangria's on Wednesday afternoons. Free coffee and tea in a very nice space on the second level. Nothing bad or uneven about our experience during our three days and two nights there.

Stayed August 2016, traveled as a couple

“Upper East Side charming hotel”

We enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel very much indeed. It was the first time we had stayed at the Wales Hotel.We have stayed in New York City quite a few time and did not wish to stay in the tourist areas. The location is in a residential area which proved to be very useful. Besides being in the"museum" area being in a "locals" area proved to be delightful. The Hotel itself was very comfortable and having a roof top terrace looking through Central Park and a New York Skyline enabled us to sit outside anytime..for a coffee or takeaway lunch or dinner. The local next door restaurants and places like Sarabeth's were just so convenient( being able to order room service from Sarabeth's was such an advantage).Eating in these places introduced us to locals who were extremely friendly and welcoming. They all loved having Australians to talk too. We ended up with some new friends! The staff at the Wales were extremely helpful even phoning places of interest for us and they always gave a very happy welcomes every time we came back from an outing.They also were happy to take delivery of an order from Bloomingdale's while we were away in Quebec City. The Wales Hotel was a terrific find. There is also a business floor on the second level with 24 hour coffee and tea ..tables to eat takeaway breakfast lunch or dinner if needed ...as well as a computer section and lounge for business meetings. Families are very welcome.

Room Tip: most rooms appeared to be very comfortable

Stayed June 2016, traveled on business